Shards

Shards is a novel by Ismet Prcic, © Black Cat 2011.

Thanks for watching! If you like what you see, you can click “follow” in the sidebar on the right and get email updates when I post!

About Katie Willingham

I am a recently graduated English major and poet from Macalester College in Saint Paul, MN. I am an avid reader and have a lot to say about what I read.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shards

  1. Harry! says:

    Katie I love hearing you talk about reading weird shit. I also love grumpy Eastern Europeans so I will definitely be checking this one out.

    Also because you mentioned Ulysses I just gotta ask–what edition are you reading that uses asterisks to break up prose styles/chapters or whatever? I don’t remember it going down like that! And that chapter on the evolution of the English language is not only the main reason I haven’t tried rereading Ulysses yet, it was also terrible airplane material.

    • Katie says:

      Harry! I am SO glad you’re watching! You should become a follower. 😉 I too love novels from the the post-Communist world.

      Re: Ulysses, it’s the Wordsworth classic edition that I bought for $3 from Half Price Books in Apple Valley this summer. It’s unabridged and everything so I don’t know why it would be different…The funniest thing is that I wrote this post BEFORE reading Ch 14…Yikes! I got through it now though. On to the play!

      • Harry! says:

        Too bad I don’t have a wordpress account so I subscribed to you on youtube like a week ago!!! (and I saw when you originally put this video up, cheeky)

        As far as Ulysses goes I am just an insufferable nerd and every time I go into a new bookstore I look at what edition they have, on account of it being in the public domain and having a million different printings. I get scared when people mention it because I remember seeing a version that was all typed in Times New Roman and didn’t have breaks between the chapters, they all just flowed into each other. No one should have to read a book like that!

        I wish all of my books looked like this, though: http://www.amazon.com/Ulysses-James-Joyce/dp/8562022543/ref=tmm_pap_title_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1327013525&sr=1-1

  2. Jamie says:

    you make this book sound really good, i want to read it now! 🙂 i also liked your description of the scene with the picture frame and the shelling- thought it was a nice little slice to talk about. keep ’em coming!

  3. I liked the way you contrasted the confusion that Ismet renders to the greater level of confusion in Ulysses. It gave me perspective on how much confusion there is in Shards. I liked the description of the disturbing lying that occurs in him, first small then big. I also really liked your sharing of the image of the actual frame – the friends staying still within it while shells were falling around them. Thanks for the introduction to Shards!

    • Thanks! I just encountered the chapter of Ulysses written to mimic the gestation of the English language, emulating various famous authors of different literary eras. YIKES. now THAT was confusion! I suppose lots of literature is about finding that balance between simplicity/complexity.

Share your thoughts

