The Last Warner Woman

The Last Warner Woman is a novel by Kei Miller, © Coffee House Press 2012

 

About Katie Willingham

I am a recently graduated English major and poet from Macalester College in Saint Paul, MN. I am an avid reader and have a lot to say about what I read.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Last Warner Woman

  1. kbergen says:

    So, when we think of the idea that “by nature of being a story” something can’t be clear are there things outside of this that might be? It’s the whole “everything’s a story so nothing is ‘clear’ or everything is ‘clear'” right? Also -‘bitter taste of nihilism’=nice 🙂

    • Things outside of what that might be what?

      I think my point was about how maybe part of the definition of “story” is that you can interpret it on different levels and see new things and that if that isn’t true about a piece of writing, it isn’t a story. Maybe.

      And yes, the oh-so-bitter taste of nihilism indeed.

  2. cdub says:

    Reminds me of Teju Cole’s small fates, and this gem: https://twitter.com/#!/tejucole/statuses/193399294479433730

  3. Chelsea Mayo says:

    yay storytelling! 🙂 nice finish. I think you just keep getting better at wrapping all of your thoughts up at the end while asking plenty of questions throughout the video

  4. Lee Krug says:

    I admire the way you interweave so many ideas about stories. As a therapist I find the best way to begin getting to know my patient is by saying: “Tell me your story”. All the questions you raise are fascinating. I was once at a seminar where we each were asked to go around the room and tell each other individual the mainline story we had built about our life. After telling it 25 times, most of us were sick of our own story!

Share your thoughts

