Love, an Index

Love, an Index is a collection of poetry by Rebecca Lindenberg, © McSweeney’s 2012

About Katie Willingham

I am a recently graduated English major and poet from Macalester College in Saint Paul, MN. I am an avid reader and have a lot to say about what I read.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Love, an Index

  1. I like the contrast you draw between the structure of the Index and the “delicacy” of the poems in fragments. And more, your vote for the substance of her love of her lost boyfriend who went missing in Japan three years ago.
    “Love counts, and her love counts and counted and has meaning.”

    • Katie Willingham says:

      Thanks! I wish that juxtaposition worked better in the book. I think it was like moving in two totally different directions at once. Kind of crazy.

  2. kbergen says:

    This had a nice poignant ending. I also appreciated hearing about this book through your interpretation as I would probably not read it on my own 😀

  3. Chelsea Mayo says:

    hmm interesting how the different styles of poems work together – I like the idea that even if she can create an index of something as abstract as love, there are still some fragments slipping through the structure, and then the combination of all those elements makes the actual index. whoaaa

    good reviews! I have been behind

Share your thoughts

