Child Wonder

Child Wonder is a novel by Roy Jacobsen and translated by Don Bartlett and Don Shaw, © Graywolf Press 2011

*Wow sorry for the mishap. I wrote this last week and it never published! Enjoy two videos this week! Woo-hoo!

About Katie Willingham

I am a recently graduated English major and poet from Macalester College in Saint Paul, MN. I am an avid reader and have a lot to say about what I read.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Child Wonder

  1. kbergen says:

    Seems like the tenses aren’t the only thing that jump around! The kid’s thoughts are all over the place too.

    I just read Room (have you read it?) and it’s interesting b/c even though you’re talking about a kid much older than the protagonist in Room (he’s 5) a lot of what you commented on with regards to the changing perspective and the realization of self apart from your parents (and sometimes in contradiction to them) holds true. I think children are really hard to write well, and I think it would be extra difficult to then translate them. Did you ever feel as though there were elements that didn’t translate?

    • I have not read Room, but I’ve heard a lot about it. As to your last question, I don’t think I can comment on elements that didn’t translate without the ability to compare…There are many moments where he hears something or sees something that he doesn’t understand at the time, though, and I wonder about the precision of those moments and how well we are supposed to understand what he doesn’t. At times, I didn’t, and I’m not sure the nuance would have been clearer in the original. Perhaps!

Share your thoughts

