Zone One

Zone One is a novel by Colson Whitehead, © Doubleday 2011

About Katie Willingham

I am a recently graduated English major and poet from Macalester College in Saint Paul, MN. I am an avid reader and have a lot to say about what I read.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Zone One

  1. Harry! says:

    ahhh Colson Whitehead! Love that cat (though don’t I remember you being less kind to The Intuitionist…? Tut tut, Katie Willingham! Or was I just way too pleasantly surprised by it…?)

    I’m ashamed to say that I was skeptical of him writing a zombie apocalypse story because sometimes it seems zombies are the most boring thing I could possibly think of. Where’s my broad satire? Don’t tell me that zombies represent the unthinking masses, that was only cool once, when Romero did it! But by backgrounding the zombies to the degree you suggest in the video it looks like he’s doing something interesting, here. I’ll put it on order at the library and ask a doctor what I can do to stop being a pretentious jerk!

    • Was I cruel to The Intuitionist? I don’t remember that! I’m cruel to everything, aren’t I?

      It actually took me quite a long time to get into this one. It’s quite slow…other than that car roof action scene mentioned, ha. I didn’t end up making this the focus of this post but much like the play on “elevators” in The Intuitionist, Zone One is about walls/”barriers,” what we try to keep in or protect and what we try to keep out. Cleverrr

      • Harry! says:

        hahaha I don’t think it was so much you being cruel as me asking you one time around finals “So how ’bout that The Intuitionist?” and you were like “Yugh,” which is pretty much how we talk to each other anyway. Keep up the good work Katie!

  2. kbergen says:

    Hmm at first I thought it sounded like he was going to be an antihero. But now it sounds like he’s actually somewhat heroic in spite of his averageness. He’s like HARRY POTTER 😉 Also, this is unrelated to the zombie apocalypse, but I told you of my person goal to read 100 books this year? well, you should aim for 200. Just sayin’. 🙂

    • 200?! Soooo many books!

      Hahahaha, let’s be real. Harry Potter is not average. I think Whitehead was kind of mocking the whole “everyman” character by being so insistent about how normal Spitz was. A protagonist can’t be an “everyman,” right? Because the second you add detail, you’ve removed the “every.” Or something like that. It took me a long time to get to that place though.

Share your thoughts

