A Partial History of Lost Causes

A Partial History of Lost Causes is a novel by Jennifer duBois, © Dial Press 2012

About Katie Willingham

I am a recently graduated English major and poet from Macalester College in Saint Paul, MN. I am an avid reader and have a lot to say about what I read.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Partial History of Lost Causes

  1. kbergen says:

    Look who is finally commenting again after being a bad person for several weeks. Apologies. You should know I’ve been downloading your videos and watching them (/read the written one) but then I don’t have internet when I watch them and fail to go back and comment. I’ll fix that.

    Anyways, this book seems interesting. It sounds like chess might play a rather symbolic role in the novel, with this idea of winning running throughout? It’s interesting to me because I tend to think of chess as a more process-driven rather than end-game oriented activity, but it sounds like that’s not the case for how the characters feel about death in the book?

    • That is so sweet! Don’t worry. I know you’re there even if you don’t comment. I don’t know much about chess, really, but I think the end always matters, if you’re good enough to be competing. Even though the focus is on the strategy you used to win, you have to win for anyone to care about your strategy. And I guess here that matters to Aleksandr because he’s pretty self-important.

  2. Thomas Wilingham says:

    Loved it Kate. You’re going strong, girl! Getting ready to attend conference November 9-10 called “The Mosaic of Grief: A Workshop on Spiritually Integrated Care and Counseling in Times of Loss and Grief,” by Melissa Kelly who wrote the book called: Grief: Contemporary Theory and the Practice of Ministry

Share your thoughts

