The Translation of the Bones (at long last)

The Translation of the Bones is a novel by Francesca Kay, © Scribner 2011

About Katie Willingham

I am a recently graduated English major and poet from Macalester College in Saint Paul, MN. I am an avid reader and have a lot to say about what I read.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Translation of the Bones (at long last)

  1. Ha! I love the idea of how to clean Jesus–it’s like something out of a Jodorowsky movie! It reminds me of boy scouts, when we had to retire a flag. There are all sorts of regulations for flag-carrying: you can’t ever let it touch the ground, you need two people to help fold it in a specific direction, rolling up along the stripes and into the stars if I remember correctly. To retire the flag someone has to read a prayer (I think, I’m going by memory here) while the flag is folded and lowered into the fire. Lucky me, I got to lower the flag once, but the fire was taller than I was so I just had to give it a toss onto the side, but it started to fall out of the cracks where it landed and I had to poke it back in with a stick while everyone stood at attention. Pomp and circumstance, y’all

  2. kbergen says:

    Hahah ‘mystical and profound RUBS up against the practical details’ in the search for cleaning products for Jesus….

    Coincidence that Mary Margaret sounds a lot like Mary Magdalene?

Share your thoughts

